What are our 11 fundamental duties?

The 11 Fundamental Duties are a set of moral and civic obligations outlined in the Constitution of India. These duties were added to the Constitution through the 42nd Amendment Act in 1976. They are aimed at promoting a sense of discipline, responsibility, and commitment among Indian citizens. Here are the 11 Fundamental Duties:

  1. To abide by the Constitution and respect its ideals and institutions, the National Flag, and the National Anthem.

  2. To cherish and follow the noble ideals that inspired the national struggle for freedom.

  3. To uphold and protect the sovereignty, unity, and integrity of India.

  4. To defend the country and render national service when called upon to do so.

  5. To promote harmony and the spirit of common brotherhood among all the people of India transcending religious, linguistic, and regional or sectional diversities. To renounce practices derogatory to the dignity of women.

  6. To value and preserve the rich heritage of our composite culture.

  7. To protect and improve the natural environment, including forests, lakes, rivers, wildlife, and to have compassion for living creatures.

  8. To develop scientific temper, humanism, and the spirit of inquiry and reform.

  9. To safeguard public property and to abjure violence.

  10. To strive towards excellence in all spheres of individual and collective activity so that the nation constantly rises to higher levels of endeavor and achievement.

  11. To provide opportunities for education to one's child or ward between the age of six and fourteen years.

It's important to note that these duties are not legally enforceable, and there are no penalties for not fulfilling them. However, they are considered fundamental to the well-being of the nation, and citizens are encouraged to voluntarily adhere to them for the greater good of the society and the country.

Post a Comment